Evaluation criteria: The 17 IWA principles

The judgement criteria is based on the IWA principles for Water-Wise Cities. These hold for each category. Entrants that perform on more criteria will be scored higher than entrants that do really well on only a few. The focus is on integrating these principles.

The IWA Principles help city leaders ensure that everyone in their cities has access to safe water and sanitation. One of the aims is to ensure that water is integrated in planning and design in cities to provide increased resilience to climate change, livability, efficiencies, and a sense of place for urban communities.

The ultimate goal of the criteria, as it is with the IWA Principles is to encourage collaborative action,underpinned by a shared vision, at every level – so that local governments, urban professionals, and individuals actively engage in addressing and finding solutions for managing all waters of the city.

The 17 Principles are grouped into four categories:

  • Regenerative Water Services
  • Water Sensitive Urban Design
  • Basin Connected Cities
  • Water-Wise Communities

and listed below, for more information please visit the IWA site:

Regenerative Water Services:

  1. Replenish Waterbodies and Their Ecosystems
  2. Reduce the Amount of Water and Energy Used
  3. Reuse, Recover, Recycle
  4. Use a Systemic Approach Integrated with Other Services
  5. Increase The Modularity of Systems and Ensure Multiple Options
    Water Sensitive Urban Design:
  6. Enable Regenerative Water Services
  7. Design Urban Spaces to Reduce Flood Risks
  8. Enhance Liveability With Visible Water
  9. Modify and Adapt Urban Materials to Minimise Environmental Impact
    Basin Connected Cities: 
  10. Plan to Secure Water Resources and Mitigate Drought
  11. Protect the Quality of Water Resources
  12. Prepare for Extreme Events
    Water-Wise Communities:
  13. Empowered Citizens
  14. Professionals Aware of Water Co-Benefits
  15. Transdisciplinary Planning Teams
  16. Policy Makers Enabling Water Wise Action
  17. Leaders that Engage and Engender Trust